C3 Spotlight – Jackie Geilfuss

Name: Jackie Geilfuss

Company name: Mebb Professional Sign Language (@mebbasl)

Education: In addition to working at Mebb, I’m a student at Lesley University in Porter Square. Next May, I’ll be completing a self-designed Bachelors in Sociology, Social Change, and Gender Studies.

Hometown: Newton, MA

Typically sits: Brown soft seating


What are you working on? – Right now we’re gearing up for summer ASL classes! We have a beginners’ class that starts on July 17th and will run for 6 weeks. CIC residents get 50% off! People can email learn@mebbasl.com for more info.

How do you get your music? – Spotify or Songza

What’s your favorite C3 moment? Hillary and I started on the same day! We’ve been in this together since the beginning and I’m grateful for that.

What’s your favorite thing about working in C3? – I get restless being in one place for too long; we tried dedicated space, but it wasn’t right for us. I like being able to get up and move around all day and see other people.

Are there any C3 related projects you would like to help out with or see happen? – I’d love to see more human service-based companies working together. Sometimes we feel out of place because we’re not a tech start-up.

Favorite CIC kitchen food?  – Drumsticks – I sneak over to the 5th floor of 1 Broadway when I’m craving them

Whats your daily commute like? Bus to the Green Line to the Red Line. I definitely get a lot out of my monthly T pass.

What’s something every entrepreneur should know before starting a business?  Working with friends and family is just as hard as everyone says it is, but it also brings unique rewards. Don’t be afraid to give it a try.

View past C3 Spotlights on the Member Profiles Page!  Want to be featured?  Email helpmeC3@cictr.com